Written by -   
Tuesday, 28 August 2007


Click on Read more to view....



(From left) Dinesh Rai, Vice Chairman, Delhi Development Authority, Ajay G. Piramal, Chairman, Nicholas Piramal India Limited, and Admiral Sureesh Mehta



The Navy golf team emerged overall winners at the Admirals' Cup 2006, organised by the Nicholas Piramal group. The Golf tournament saw a clash between teams Chief of Naval Staff and Lt. Governor, Delhi.


The Nicholas Piramal Admiral's Cup 2006 organised by Nicholas Piramal (I) Ltd., (NPIL) in association with the Indian Navy was inaugu­rated by Ajay Piramal, Chairman, NPIL, at the DDA Qutab Golf Course, Lado Sarai.


This initiative by Nicholas Piramal has been lauded by various ministries as a step to strength­en and expand the ties amongst Corporate India, Indian Navy and the Government of India. Commenting on the occasion, Harinder Sikka, Director, NPIL, who is also an avid player said, "It is a unique golf match, played by unique golfers with a unique idea of spreading cama­raderie amongst the decision makers".


Other titles won on the occasion were: Best in Navy, Commander A.K. Rattan, runners up(Navy), Captain Sunil Nanda, Best in Lt. Governor team, Sheila Sangwan; Runner up, Lt. Gov, Devender Dutta; Best in Judiciary. jay Jain; Runners Up (judiciary). Arun Bharadwaj;


Best in Ambassadors, Francis Meloi (South Africa); Runner up (Ambassadors), Calvin Eu (Singapore); Best in Civilians, Rishi Bharthan and the runner up in Civilians, Rana Alam.


The winner of longest drive was Sanjay Sharma, Managing Director, Swarovski, Closest to the pin-hole was Sweta Galande and winner of straight drive was Col. S.S. Rathore.


The event was graced by the presence of emi­nent personalities like, Dr. A.K. Kidwai (Governor of Haryana), Rao Inderjit Singh (MoS, Defence Production), Ajay Prasad (Civil Aviation Secretary), Admiral Sureesh Mehta (Chief of Naval Staff), Shri B.P Singh (Judge Supreme Court) and judges of High Court, Senior Bureaucrats from IAS, IFS, IPS, IRS etc. Ambassadors and High Commissioners from the diplomatic corp. and eminent sport person­alities like Mr. Charu Sharma.

< Prev   Next >